• Regulations

Sequence of Documents

To certify a receiver for a given application requires a series of documents

The FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) certifies the design of aircraft and components that are used in civil aviation operations. We are performance-based, proactive, centered on managing risk, and focused on continuous improvement. Aircraft certification has relied on the exchange of information and technical data which has helped reduce risk of commercial aviation fatalities by 94 percent over the past 20 years.

The International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) was established by the Chicago Convention on December 7th 1944. It became a specialized agency of the United Nations and is responsible for establishing the global regulatory framework for the safety of international civil aviation.

RTCA (Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics) is an american organization that develops technical guidance for use by government regulatory authorities. RTCA’s main objectives are ensuring the safety and reliability for airborn systems, developing minimum operational performance requirements for document-specific systems, developing guidelines for use by a regulatory authority, providing administrative and logistics resources that enable teamwork among the worldwide aviation community.

The European agency in charge of air safety and environmental compatibility of civil aviation. EASA's mission is to promote the highest level of safety, facilitate the free movement of goods, services and people, and make regulatory and certification processes more cost-effective

EuroCAE (European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment) brings together civil aviation stakeholders to establish rules for the standardisation of systems used by civil aviation in Europe. EuroCAE develops standards for avionics industry’s needs that build upon the state of the art expertise of its members and address the global aviation challenges, are fit for purpose to be adopted internationally, support the operational, development and regulatory processes
Website put into orbit by Digitanie


ARAIM: Advanced Receiver Autonomous Integrity Monitoring

ARINC: Aeronautical Radio Incorporated (provides aeronautical standard)

CONOPS: A CONcept of OPerationS is a document describing the operational use of a proposed system

DFMC: Dual Frequency Multi Constellation

EASA: European Aviation Safety Agency

EDG²E: Equipment for Dual Frequency Galileo GPS and EGNOS

EGNOS: European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service

ERTMS: European Rail Traffic Management System

ETSO: European Technical Standard Order. Defined by EASA, it gives the requirements that an airborne equipment must meet.

EUROCAE: EURopean Organization for Civil Aviation Equipment

FAA: Federal Aviation Administration (US)

FDE: Fault Detection and Exclusion (detects the presence of a failing satellite and removes it from the positoning)

GNSS: Global Navigation Satellite System

GPS: Global Positioning System

EUSPA: European Union Agency for the Space Programme

ICAO: International Civil Aviation Organization

MOPS: Minimum Operation Performance Standards

PBN: Performance-Based Navigation

PVT: Position, Velocity and Time estimation

RAIM: Receiver Autonomous Integrity Monitoring

RF FRONT END: Radio Frequency frond end

RTCA: Radio Technical Commission for Aeronautics

SARPS: Standards and Recommended Practices

SBAS: Space Based Augmentation System

TSO: Technical Standards Orders